Carl Hiaasen

Philip Pullman

Who is Philip Pullman?

Philip Pullman, is a highly successful British author best known for his Young Adult fantasy series 'His Dark Materials'.

His Dark Materials

Pullman's His Dark Materials, is highly influenced by John Milton's Paradise Lost. The trilogy, follows the coming of age of two children, Lyra and Will, as they wander through a series of parallel universes, where a human's soul exists outside one's body--in the form of a talking animal.

The books that make up His Dark Materials

Northern Lights (also known as The Golden Compass in the USA and some other countries). It was first published in the UK in 1995 and 1996 in the USA.

The Subtle Knife, is the second book in the trilogy.  It was published in 1997 and continues the adventures of Lyra Belacqua (now known as Lyra Silvertongue) as she investigates the mysterious phenomenon of Dust. It also introduces Will Parry as a companion to Lyra, and together they explore new worlds in the search for Will's father.

The Amber Spyglass is the third novel in the His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman. It was Published in 2000. The novel is an homage to Milton's Paradise Lost and is partly a re-evaluation of the Biblical tale of Adam and Eve. Due to this there are differences between the UK and USA versions with regards to Lyra as 'Eve'.

Prequels ands sequels to His Dark Materials

The Book of Dust, includes characters and events from the His Dark Materials. Pullman has said that the new series is neither sequel, nor prequel. the books in this series so far include: La Belle Sauvage (2017)  The Secret Commonwealth (2019)

Keep in touch

If you would like to explore 100's of in depth book reviews and author interviews, why not click below to visit our website.